City Council

City Council

The City Council is the elected governing body for the City of Cape Girardeau and consists of the Mayor and six City Council Members. The Mayor is directly elected at-large (city-wide) for a four-year term and the City Council Members are elected from six wards for staggered four-year terms. Cape Girardeau is a "home rule" city with the Council-Manager form of government.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, with a 5 p.m. Study Session prior to each meeting.  Meeting agendas are posted by the end of the week prior to each meeting. View the City of Cape Girardeau's service schedule, observed Holidays, and City Council meeting dates at

Watch Live or Recent City Council Meetings

The regular 7 p.m. meeting broadcasts live online on Google On Air and on Charter channel 993 in the Cape-Jackson area. The most recent meeting is posted on the City's YouTube channel.

Mayor - Harry E. Rediger
Ward 1 - Joseph Uzoaru
Ward 2 - Shelly Moore
Ward 3 - Victor R. Gunn
Ward 4 - Robbie Guard
Ward 5 - Bob Fox
Ward 6 - Danny R. Essner

  • Contact Info
  • 401 Independence, PO Box 617 Cape Girardeau, MO  63703
  • Telephone 573.339.6320
  • Email